Bill Bryson – One Summer: America 1927

So, for my New Year resolution I decided to read 50 books in 2015. I’m 4 books in so far, these include Paper Aeroplanes and Northanger Abby. I recently finished One Summer (and shamefully the last of the Harry Potter Series (which needs no review haha). Bill Bryson has been an author I’ve been interested in reading after seeingMade In America on my Mam and Dad’s book shelf as a kid, but never got round to it. So, One Summer, at a wonderful 600 odd pages was a huge dive for me. Apart from the daunting length of his book, and the niggling thought in the back of my mind that I don’t really know how I’ll fair with a Non-fiction book, I thoroughly enjoyed the journey through 1920’s America.

America is a country and a culture I’ve always been fascinated by, and rightly so having learned of the absolute feats completed during the 20’s. Aviation was changed forever, Baseball was dominated by Babe Ruth and Boxing was made into a mainstream sport. Not only that, Prohibition was in full swing and the government was full of men who didn’t really know what they were doing. On that matter though, who does know what they’re doing?

Bill has me hooked on his writing, Notes from a Small Country is in the post and I can’t wait to read about his time in the UK having lived here for 20 years! Maybe I should buy Made in America too, it would make sense, right?

Leave a Reply

