Strangers

Recently, I’ve been trying my hand at new ventures. For two years, I spent my life at work, at home then the pub. I did dabble in running, but I always went on my own. I did run 3 times a week for 7 weeks in total before I began to trickle out into 1-2 times a week.

I have written about my running before, and it’s a great addition to my life. It relaxes me, evenings in front of the TV feel more chilled and strangely fulfilling. Fulfilling in the sense that, my body needs to sit and snuggle in fluffy blankets whilst eating and drinking tea because I’ve worked hard!

When I quit my job in Sheffield and moved back to Newcastle, I found myself even more lost and without reason than before. When working, however brutally soul destroying it may be, you’re still talking with good people and seeing your friends on a daily basis. Without that, I was on my own. So I decided to join a running club and attend each Tuesday and Thursday. It has changed my outlook on myself and mainly everything else. I was scared of going out of my way to do extra curricular things, and fell comfortable in my old routine. I was scared of meeting new people and scared of them meeting me. Now, I realise that everyone is usually the same, not everyone is judging me or making decisions on my person as much as I assumed they were in the past.

I now volunteer with a writing development organisation and a Bhuddist shop twice a week including attending the running club, and though I’m stressed and having anxiety dreams over money and work, it’s not ALL that important to my life. I just need money and a job to fuel my interests.

Meeting strangers, however terrifying it may be, opens doors to new adventures and new feelings of accomplishment you are probably missing by following the same old routine. Don’t settle for comfortable and don’t live to work!

Leave a Reply

